Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
News & Press: News Release

TICUA Announces Class of 2020 Hall of Fame Inductees

Monday, October 5, 2020   (0 Comments)
Share |

Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Honor Alumni in 

the Inaugural Class of the TICUA Hall of Fame

Civil Rights Icon John Lewis, Presidential Biographer Jon Meacham among the 24 honorees in 

the Class of 2020

NASHVILLE, TENN. - Tennessee’s Independent Colleges and Universities have helped shape some of our nation’s most distinguished and impressive citizens - from Nobel laureates and Pulitzer Prize winners to faith leaders, entrepreneurs, and elected officials. 

The Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association (TICUA) created the TICUA Hall of Fame to honor the distinguished alumni of its 35 member institutions while highlighting their contributions to our state, nation, and world.



“The inaugural class of the TICUA Hall of Fame features a diverse and incredibly impressive group of citizens that our institutions have helped prepare,” said TICUA President Claude Pressnell, “While you will recognize many of the names, all of these alumni have made significant contributions worth learning about. We are proud to be able to give them just a small portion of the recognition they deserve.” 

For example, American Baptist College selected Congressman John Lewis on behalf of their campus before his passing in July 2020. Lewis was an alumni of two TICUA Institutions: American Baptist College and Fisk University.

“John Lewis came to American Baptist College at just 17- years-old. He credited his education 

at American Baptist College for helping to mold him into the passionate leader he became,” said Forrest E. Harris, Sr., President of American Baptist College. “There is no better time to honor Lewis’ life and legacy and we are grateful TICUA is recognizing his indelible contributions to our country.”

The honorees exemplify the value of the liberal arts education and how it can be used in a variety of career fields. The inaugural TICUA Hall of Fame Class of 2020 are

  • Congressman John Lewis - American Baptist College

  • Rebekah Lemley - Aquinas College 

  • Anita Vaughn - Baptist Health Sciences University 

  • R. Milton Johnson - Belmont University

  • Altha Stewart - Christian Brothers University

  • Cordell Hull - Cumberland University

  • David Levering Lewis - Fisk University

  • John and Rosemary Brown - Freed-Hardeman University 

  • Fred Craddock - Johnson University

  • Katherine Paterson - King University 

  • Thornton Meacham - Lane College 

  • Paul Conn - Lee University 

  • James Bishop - LeMoyne-Owen College

  • Clayton Hess - Lincoln Memorial University

  • Michael Adams - Lipscomb University

  • William Henderson Franklin - Maryville College 

  • Del Harris - Milligan University

  • John M. Edwards III & Stace D. Dollar  - Middle Tennessee School of Anesthesia

  • Jon Meacham - Sewanee: The University of the South

  • Senator John Boozman - Southern College of Optometry

  • Scott Niswonger - Tusculum University

  • Bob Agee - Union University

  • Carlisle Hanna - Welch College 


About TICUA: 

TICUA engages Tennessee's private, non-profit colleges and universities to work collaboratively in areas of public policy, cost containment, and professional development to better serve the State and its citizens. TICUA membership includes 35 member institutions comprised of four-year colleges and universities and professional colleges. In fall 2019, TICUA member colleges and universities throughout the State enrolled over 81,000 students and employed over 20,000 faculty and staff. For more information about TICUA, please visit our website at