Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
News & Press: News Release

TICUA Kicks Off Second Year of Executive Leadership Institute

Friday, October 20, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |
Nashville, TN – The Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association (TICUA) announced the second cohort of the TICUA Executive Leadership Institute. The Executive Leadership Institute provides independent college and university campus officials the knowledge and skills necessary to prepare for leadership roles and thus strengthen the local campus’ leadership team. The goal of the program is to prepare the next generation of campus leaders through assessment of their current leadership style, identification of areas of potential growth, and bolstering their passion for private higher education. The Institute addresses a variety of areas including education governance, politics, strategic planning, enrollment, student success, public relations, advancement, fiscal affairs, and student affairs. The content is presented by current and former TICUA member campus presidents and executive staff members, as well as national experts. 
The institute is comprised of 9 two-day sessions held at TICUA member campuses across the State. This year sessions will be held at Christian Brothers University (Memphis), King University (Bristol), Lipscomb University (Nashville), Meharry Medical College (Nashville), Milligan College (Milligan College), Sewanee: The University of the South (Sewanee), Tennessee Wesleyan University (Athens), Union University (Jackson), and Welch College (Gallatin).
“We’re pleased to be able to offer this transformational experience,” stated TICUA President Claude Pressnell. “By facilitating the exchange of ideas between current leaders and future leaders, we hope to strengthen the leadership of our member campuses so that they may best address the needs of their students.”
The 2017-18 TICUA Executive Leadership Institute Fellows are:
  • Perry Moulds, Vice President for Development and External Relations, Belmont University
  • David Huss, Vice President of Finance/Chief Financial Officer, Bethel University
  • Paul Percy, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Carson-Newman University
  • Anne Kenworthy, Vice President for Enrollment, Christian Brothers University
  • Ron Pavan, Vice President of Enrollment Services & Athletic Director, Cumberland University
  • Jason Curry, Associate Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness and Accreditations, Fisk University
  • Dave Clouse, Vice President for Advancement, Freed-Hardeman University
  • Jon Harr, Associate Dean - Academic Affairs, Administration, King University
  • Daryl McGee, Vice President for Student Affairs, Lane College
  • Jerome Hammond, Vice President for University Relations, Lee University
  • Ralph Calhoun, Chair, Division of Education & Special Assistant to the President for Academic Administration, LeMoyne-Owen College 
  • Brian Mast, Associate Provost for Academic Support Services, Lipscomb University
  • Jerilyn Swann, Professor of Biology, Maryville College
  • Jack Simpson, Vice President-Institutional Advancement, Milligan College
  • Grant Willhite, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Tennessee Wesleyan University
  • Blair Henley, Vice President of Informational Systems, Tusculum College
  • Bryan Carrier, Vice President for Student Life, Union University
Participants were selected by their institution’s president and represent a wide range of institutional roles including academic affairs, student affairs, development, institutional research, finance and enrollment.

About the Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association

TICUA engages Tennessee's private, non-profit colleges and universities to work collaboratively in areas of public policy, cost containment, and professional development to serve better the State and its citizens.  For more information about TICUA, please visit